Move over Boys…it’s the Fabulous Baker Girl

Michelle doing what she does best...

Michelle doing what she does best…

So whilst I may not rock the red velvet dress like Michelle, I can say with some confidence that my baked baps are the bees knees!! Beautifully risen, with a crunchy crust, wonderfully fragrant and oh so delicious warm out of the oven smeared in butter and jam. Literally, scoff, scoff.

There are 3 main benefits I can think of to baking your own bread in Singapore.

Firstly, it tastes great.

Secondly it is healthier than pre-packaged sliced bread from the supermarket and you can decide what goes into it…less sugar, less preservative chemicals and so on….

Third and final it’s cheaper than buying freshly baked bread in Singapore – approximately $7-10 for a similar loaf at Chef & Baker, and similar outlets….

It took me an hour and 15 minutes prep and cooking time today to do a batch of 4 loaves, enough for the week. Eat 2 fresh, freeze 2. easy lah.

Based on a recipe from my baking bible, my recipe for Basic White Bread (click here) has been tweaked slightly to fit my store cupboard and taste…

My home-baked baps (loafs technically speaking but not so funny)

My home-baked baps (loaves technically speaking but not so funny)

And here they are in the making…

Monkeys waiting for first 'proving' of the dough...

Monkeys waiting for first ‘proving’ of the dough…

Me doing what I do best... that's the last time hubby helps with the photography!

Kneading the dough ready for making into loaves and 2nd proving… that’s the last time hubby helps with the photography.                 But let’s see if my website stats improve – hah!

Voila! Freshly baked bread.

Voila! Freshly baked bread.

One thought on “Move over Boys…it’s the Fabulous Baker Girl

Leave a Reply

